The Libertarian Party Opportunity in 2024
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Next Meeting

Thurs, June 20
5:30 - 6:30 pm
Tiny's Restaurant
600 E. Highway 260
Payson, AZ 85541

Donate to the Gila AZ LP
Please help us restore liberty
to Gila County.


Payson Residents: Are you ready for the August 28th elections?

The Gila County Libertarian Party urges Payson residents to become informed about the issues and candidates on the upcoming August 28th ballot. Up for vote are mayor, three town council seats, and three ballot initiatives/propositions.

Staring the last week of July, each household in Payson with one or more registered voters will receive by snail mail an official “Publicity Pamphlet.” This contains the full text of each Proposition and any arguments submitted for or against. We urge you to review this pamphlet prior to voting.

This is an all-mail election and deadline to register to vote is 5:00 p.m., Monday, July 30.  For more information on how to register to vote or to request an absentee ballot, contact the Gila County Recorder’s Office at 800-291-4452 or 928-474-7139.

Our bylaws prevent the Libertarian Party from endorsing specific candidates in non-partisan races, but generally speaking we favor candidates who espouse libertarian positions such as lower taxes, lower government spending and greater accountability.

We urge you to become informed about the two mayoral candidates and the seven town council candidates, and to cast your votes accordingly.  The Payson Roundup has prepared the following profiles for each of the candidates.

Mayor: Craig Swartwood and Tom Morrissey.

Town Council:

Jeffrey Aal Kim Chittick Shirley Dye Jim Ferris
Dave Golembewski Chris Higgins Hallie Overman-Jackman

Ballot Issues:

The Gila County Libertarian Party endorses a “YES” vote on all three initiatives:

  • Proposition 400 (Home Rule)
  • Proposition 401 (Voter approval of certain long-term leases)
  • Proposition 402 (Voter approval of certain bond issuances)

For more information on the ballot issues, please visit